El Reno Public School Foundation recognizes the lasting efforts of graduates of El Reno High School. Nominations are accepted for individuals who are found to have distinguished themselves as leaders, supporters, and role models.

2015  Alumni Recipients:

Gabriel BassA. Gabriel Bass

A. Gabriel Bass graduated from El Reno High School in 1994.  He then graduated in 2003 from the University of Oklahoma with a BBA, Master of Science, and Juris Doctorate with Honors.  Gabe practices with Bass Law in the areas of business planning, real estate, oil & gas, and estates and trusts.  He obtained Martindale-Hubbell’s highest rating of AV Preeminent, as indication that his peers rank him at the highest levels of professional excellence.  Gabe is a member of the American Bar Association, Oklahoma Bar Association, Canadian County Bar Association, Oklahoma County Association, Oklahoma County Bar Association, Entrepreneur’s Organization, OKC Mineral Lawyers Society, and American Association of Professional Landmen.  Gabe has written many articles for professional associations, too numerous to list.  He was adjunct Professor at OCU School of Law in 2014.  He has received numerous awards such as President’s Award from Oklahoma Bar Association, Best Lawyers in America, Oklahoma Super Lawyers, Meritorious Service Medal in the US Marine Corps, Commanding Officer’s Honor List, Officer Candidate School in the US Marine Corps, and President’s Leadership Class at OU.  On a community level, Gabe is active in the Oklahoma Bar Foundation, Great Expectations Foundation, Oklahoma Hemophilia Foundation, and Oklahoma Academy for State Goals.  Gabe was a Captain in the US Marine Corps from 2002-2007, and is presently a Major in the United States Marine Corps Reserve.  Perhaps most importantly, he is a husband to Candy Kubitza Bass, and a father to their son, Andy.  He is also the son of Andy and Linda Wintermute Bass, both graduates of EHS.

 Tom MooreTom Moore

Tom Moore graduated from El Reno High School in 1954.  Spending nine years in the El Reno Public Schools, he lettered in baseball and basketball.  After graduation, he enrolled in the University of Oklahoma with a scholarship in basketball.  Quickly seeing that this scholarship was not going to pay for double majors of geology and business, Tom enrolled in Cameron Junior College, again with a basketball scholarship.  He graduated in 1956, and enrolled in Phillips University where he graduated in 1959, with his original double majors.  There was, however, a year’s absence when he dropped out to earn money working in oil fields before receiving his degree.  Tom started is career in Hobbs, New Mexico, working for Dowell as a field engineer.  In 1968, he moved to Anchorage, Alaska, to manage Dowell’s Petroleum Industry Services as well as their involvement with the nuclear test site, Amchitka Island in the Aleutian Islands, 1500 miles from Anchorage.  Tom was on the island when the nuclear devices were prepared for detonation, requiring a Government Q clearance.  Tom moved to southern California as Regional Manager of Dowell’s Petroleum Industry Services.  In 1978, he resigned from Dowell Division of Dow, and bought a small oil company which moved him to Midland, Texas, where he currently resides.  Tom has always felt honored to help those in need and enable others to reach for their goals.  In 2006, Tom took over as President of the Board and Executive Director of the Wayne and Joann Moore Charitable Foundation.  During his leadership, the foundation has granted more than $10,000,000 to charitable and non-profit organizations.  Tom also oversaw the establishment of ten endowed scholarships at seven universities in Texas and Missouri.  Mr. Moore places a considerable emphasis on education, and sees it as a path to a more fulfilling life.  He credits his education with making possible his successful career and wonderful life.  In his spare time he loves to travel, visit family, play golf, fish, and hunt.  As an interesting comment, Tom’s nomination for Distinguished Alumni was signed and supported by 14 members of the infamous “Men of ’54!”


Past Recipients of the Award

  • Bob Allen

  • Dan Almond

  • Jim Archer – 2011

  • Carol Atwood

  • Ruth Ann Ball

  • Carolyn Barker

  • Andy Bass

  • A. Gabriel Bass – 2015

  • Jim Bass – 2011

  • Curtis Blanc

  • Edward Boedecker

  • Marcia Bollinger

  • Jerome Bushyhead

  • Dr. Robert Carter

  • David Delana

  • Betty Gatliff

  • Mark Gibson

  • Bill Gustafson – Oklahoma State Senator

  • Fletcher Dal Handley Jr.

  • Chaney Haynes – 2013

  • Penny Haynes

  • George Price Hays

  • Alan Hollingsworth

  • Billy Hughey

  • Randy Hurst

  • Tony Hutchinson

  • Karen Janovy

  • Karen Jennings

  • Kirke Kickingbird

  • Paul King

  • George Kizer

  • Don Ledbetter

  • Bill Lorenzen

  • Dr. Evelyn Lorenzen

  • Jared Jobe

  • Gordon Johnson

  • Betty Johnston

  • Burrel McNaught

  • Jeannette Mitchell – 2014

  • James T. Moore

  • Tom Moore – 2015

  • Piyush Patel

  • Charlie Peterson

  • Wanda Potts

  • Vickie Proctor – 2011

  • Kenneth Randall

  • Gordon Reische

  • Dean Rinehart

  • Mike Roach

  • Leslie Roblyer

  • Gaylord Shaw

  • Jason Shaw

  • Robert Slocum

  • Gary Smith

  • Karen Royse Stark – 2013

  • Gerald Stockton

  • Guy Taylor

  • Gary Tesch

  • Kyle Toal

  • Dr. Emmett Thompson – 2013

  • Judge Emmett F. Thompson (posthumously) – 2013

  • Steve Thompson

  • Suzanne Thompson

  • David Varner

  • Donna Von Tungeln

  • Henry Jo Von Tungeln

  • Neola Waller

  • Jack Whenry

  • Frank Wilkerson

  • F.E. (Butch) Wise – 2014

  • Bill Wrede

El Reno Distinguished Alumni Award Nomination Form